Homemade Ketchup with Pumpkin “Fries”

It was a beautiful weekend but the weather has definitely gotten colder.  I can always tell the change in seasons from the produce at my local green grocer.  It’s the end of Summer and the start of Autumn and I’m seeing the ends of stone fruits as well as the first of the pumpkin and sweet potatoes.

I love roast pumpkin.  And I love ketchup. So why not combine the two?

You can see that I left the skin on the pumpkin.  It’s partly because I’m lazy and partly because I think the skin is delicious.  The Homemade Ketchup is easy peasy.  All you have to do is put everything in a jar and shake it up.

Homemade Ketchup

300 grams organic tomato paste
1/4 cup water
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp mustard powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp cloves
2 tbs apple cider vinegar
5 drops stevia

  1. Put all ingredients in a jar and shake until mixed through.
  2. Will keep in the fridge for 1 month.

Pumpkin “Fries”

1/2 buttercup pumpkin
1 tbs coconut oil
1/2 tsp salt

  1. Preheat oven to 175° C.
  2. Cut pumpkin into 1 cm thick crescents.
  3. Melt coconut oil. (I use a cast iron skillet).
  4. Coat the pumpkin crescents with the melted dripping and sprinkle on the salt.
  5. Bake for 40 minutes until cooked through and crisp on the outside.
Leave a Reply

